All staves can store one or more spells, regardless of enchantment. A plain staff can hold only one. Staves are considered polearms and are two-handed weapons.

You can choose to store spells and bind gems in your inventory, when wielding the staff.

Storing a spell Edit

Storing a spell in a staff means you can cast that spell for no mana and you remember it forever. Storing a spell costs mana only when you store it; casting the spell from the staff uses up a charge, but no mana.

You only need to be able to cast the spell successfully when storing the spell, casting it from the staff will always be successful, regardless of your chance to cast. This makes storing spells you can only cast with a low chance to success an effective way to cast those spells anyway.

The staff will need time to build the first charge. To use the stored spell, click the book icon (as you normally would to cast a spell) and select the staff.

This is good for teleport away, cone of cold, and wizard lock especially, because these are very effective once you are out of mana, and you may only need one cast.

Binding a gemEdit

Binding a gem to a staff increases the number of charges a staff can hold (up to 8). You can't bind a gem to the beginning staff. If you bind a worthless glass, it will appear to charge up, but the gem will shatter and you will lose your charges. It is worth testing a gem as soon as you have one charge.

Emerald - 4 charges

Sapphire - 6 charges

Ruby - 7 charges

Diamond - 8 charges

Types of staves Edit

There are special staves corresponding to the 4 schools of magic:

A staff can store any spell, but storing a spell of the appropriate school makes it charge faster.

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.